Knott’s Berry Farm Day 6 – February 16, 2014

10:37 a.m.
Unpacking only what’s necessary in the new room for now. About to go to Knott’s for the first time. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous.

10:55 a.m.
In a bit of pain, so I’m hoping it doesn’t interfere too much in whatever activities we have planned for today. My body is at its breaking point.

10:13 p.m.
The first (and only) character we met was Lucy. The rapids ride at Knott’s, which I initially dreaded, turned out to be very slow. I didn’t even get as drenched as I did at California Adventure. The scrambler was also lame. One of those attractions that needed to run longer. Pony Express, same thing. The disappointment just kept on coming. I wanted to have fun but it wasn’t happening.

10:19 p.m.
Knott’s redeemed themselves a little with their version of Bumper Cars. Boomerang? Great ride, but it scared the hell out of me. I’m usually not afraid of thrill rides. I go on them even though I probably should keep walking. I didn’t hesitate with this one, and now I really wish I had. Going forward wasn’t terribly frightening. Going backwards made me feel like I might fly out of the seat. Had a similar experience with the Xcelerator. I don’t see myself getting on anymore thrill rides anytime soon.

10:31 p.m.
Ate pizza for lunch. It was made with marinara instead of tomato sauce. Kinda tasted like a big pizza pocket. Because my family and I are a wee bit nuts when it comes to water rides (apparently), we rode the Logjammer twice in a row. After that I failed miserably to win a giant South Park plush. The pirate ship was fun. Daniel once again showed his feminine side when he started to scream and cry. Altogether I went on the hat dance ride four times. Those Mexico-themed teacups were so fast I was practically being tossed around in my seat. The Ferris Wheel at Knott’s was smaller, slower, and ultimately unimpressive in comparison to the one at California Adventure. I’m sensing a theme here. I had such high hopes for this particular wheel, but they fell flat. To add insult to injury, I missed meeting Snoopy while on it. Granted, I wasn’t that interested in Knott’s to begin with, but I still wanted to have fun.

10:40 p.m.
Nothing about the Balloon ride was memorable. Seriously, I’ve already forgotten what it was like. The end of the night consisted of random shop-browsing before dinner at Del Taco. Their shrimp and fries were pretty good. Upon arriving back at the room, I was fortunate enough to see the last thirteen minutes of the Ducks-Kings game. Ducks won 4-3 in overtime. I cheered, everyone else was just bored. I feel bad, but hockey makes me happy. Now settling in for the night. I’m anxious to return home and finish the moving process. Here’s to hoping I have a good night’s sleep.

Leave a comment